End of Character Week.

I’m trying my best to put Deux on the front burner. I have set a mildly ridiculous schedule for myself wherein I finish the character planning stage by the end of this week. I think I’ll be done by the end of tomorrow or maybe Sunday. Regardless of my state of progress, I’m still happy I’ve been able to get even this small bit of planning done.

Next week will be plotting, followed by a week of research before the month of the first draft. I’m not sure this will be the safest route, but I know that ridiculous deadlines sometimes save novelists’ lives. I’m just going to hope I can be one of those novelists.

This one’s shaping up to be a wonderful novel in the genre of magical realism. Deux will have a greater emphasis on the realism than my first. This one will – hopefully – be set entirely on earth. Let’s keep our fingers crossed, at least.

I’ve so far got two sheets full for a majority of the characters. Just a few more left before I start to throw these growing people into a bonfire and see what happens.

~ by Jake Miller on 17 May, 2008.

One Response to “End of Character Week.”

  1. This blog is a fantastic read! When you have the chance, stop by my blog, too, at:

    http://www.WhyImNeverHavingKids.com

    Keep up the good work, your writing is great!

Leave a Reply

 
