This Summer

I plan on writing more here as this summer goes on. This one will be extremely productive, should I actually get everything done I intend to.

Currently, I’m beginning character work on a new novel. I plan on completing the first draft by the end of the summer. May is my planning month. I’ll be updating often one the topping of character sketching, outlining, and how to efficiently pull out your own hair in frustration.

I love NaNoWriMo because of its fast nature that doesn’t lend itself to planning. Still, planning may be useful. That’s why I intend to plan this work to near-death.

I’ve got to come up with a snazzy name for this project without it being an actual title. Calling it my second novel just doesn’t work.

I know! I’ll just call it Project: Deux. That way it doesn’t give away anything about the actual novel and I can remember it because it’s my second attempt at a novel.

Although I’m not completely done reading it, I recommend Nancy Kress’s Characters, Emotion & Viewpoint. It’s been a great help to me as I learn how to make believable, nearly-breathing characters. I haven’t read any of her other stuff, but she’s come highly recommended by Mur Lafferty, a writer that I trust.

~ by Jake Miller on 13 May, 2008.

2 Responses to “This Summer”

  1. Twilight is actually very good. For a teen book series. Don’t expect typical vampires, like Dracula, but don’t expect it to be amazing, like Anne Rice’s novels. It’s a good vampire love story for teens.
    =]

  2. […] I’m somewhere past step six. I’m taking my character development cues from the book I mentioned earlier, Characters, Emotion, & Viewpoints. I think some of the Snowflake character steps […]

Leave a Reply

 
