The Great Edit Begins

I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo every year since 2003. Only one of those months of writing has brought me a full novel: 2007. After finishing it, I was sure that one day I’d edit it and put it in a drawer so I could lose my romantic vision of the novel. Today is the first day of this great edit.

I’ve chosen Holly Lisle’s model for editing, found here. I like it because it promises only one long edit rather than rewriting countless times. I can’t be sure that I won’t do many more rewrites, but I know that this promise was too good to pass up.

I’ve found a notebook to use for the endeavor as well as a fresh copy of the novel. Thanks to the beauty of collegiate libraries, all 204 pages are printed double-spaced with wide margins. I think I’ll pick up a red pen from the campus bookstore today. Then I should have everything I need.

I plan to spend about an hour or so editing. I don’t want to dive in too fast and get burnt out on my writing and my editing. That would be disastrous. For now, I’m going to take it slow.

~ by Jake Miller on 4 March, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
